Bye Rustic Goat and Hello Patois

I hardly knew ye, Rustic Goat. Actually, I never had a chance to know you at all. Bummer. Friends told me the food was great as were some of the events. By the time, I decided to go there, something happened to close you, you re-opened, and now…this. Patois Eatery and Social Lounge.

I’ll take it.

According to the Riverfront Times, on April 15, Patois will open in the same location as the Rustic Goat. Same owner (Don Holmon) but different management (Johnnie Franklin). The cuisine is to be a fusion of Caribbean, Creole, and American.

That could work.

However, my interest is in the lead chef, Carmen Harris, and her menu. I want to meet the chef. The RFT articles states she’s from Chicago, land of wonderful black culinarians and food. Chicago always dominates the Midwest in James Beard nominations and wins. St. Louis as of late has not done so badly in their Beard nods. Can a girl dream of the day when a black chef in St. Louis is nominated? Can a girl dream of the day when a black-owned restaurant is nominated? Sure she can and will.

The thing I dig so far about Patois is that logo. That beautiful sun as the letter ‘o’ in Patois. It’s inviting as are their colors. I can feel the whimsy and warmth of the Caribbean, Creole culture, and St. Louis in the summertime. I also dig that you can make reservations.

One of my concerns is their entertainment component. After looking at a few posters on their Facebook page, I’ve decided I’m not their demographic for entertainment, but will probably enjoy he food and libation.

Since my journey here is about new beginnings and reinvention, I will send love and light to the new endeavor. I’m waving my good vibes wand over them.

Here are their hours as posted on their website.

Tuesday through Thursday
Lunch – 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Dine In & Bar – 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Friday
Lunch – 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Dine In & Bar – 5:00 PM to 1:30 AM
Saturday
Lunch – Noon to 3:00 PM
Dine In & Bar – 5:00 PM to 1:30 AM
Sunday Fun Day
Brunch – 11:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Dine In & Bar – 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Contact us via Phone : (314) 745-1005
Email : reservations@patiosstl.com

The address is: 2617 Washington Avenue. Patois will open at 5:30 PM on April 15.

 

 

Leave a Reply

